The Drummer

As a child, I did not hear the drums.
To busy to notice him around my neighborhood. Wait-
ing. Play time all that was.

As an adolescent, I heard faint sounds of music Com-
ing down my street. Patience.
This was all I thought.

As an adult, I heard strikes of the drums, Lurk-
ing outside my window. Persistence.
The time will soon come.

As an elder, I heard the pounding of the drums.
Knock-ing on my door. Claim-
ing. Now the drumming is all gone.


© 2015 mmsalandy All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

