Early Subordination

 

Can I fault you?

I told you to Hush – little baby

Papa’s gonna –

Do everything for you

I sang to you sweet songs of dependence

Taught you never ending disappointment

That you could not fix yourself

 

 

Can I fault you?

Oh, how I taught you to be frail

Bombarded you with stories of female weakness

The end a handsome rescuing prince charming

I caged your mind

Placed barbwire on your potential

Limited your reach

 

 

Can I fault you?

We gave you dolls for you to care

Gave you homes for you to maintain

Then the world gave you roles to fill

Heels for you to wear

Senseless giggles for you to mask

So can I really fault you?

 

Leave a Reply

